FUNCTIONALITY

THE FUNCTIONALITY OF THE ADVOS PROCEDURE

The ADVOS method is essentially based on the principle of albumin dialysis. In contrast to conventional single-pass albumin dialysis, however, ADVOS allows for a significantly higher dialysate flow, lower albumin consumption and significantly higher detoxification performance.

Albumin is a protein in the human body that is used to transport water-insoluble substances such as fatty acids, bilirubin, trace elements, certain vitamins, hormones, metals and drugs. All these substances become transportable by binding to albumin. In contrast to normal kidney dialysis, in which only water-soluble toxins are eliminated, the ADVOS process additionally removes protein-bound hepatotoxins and nephrotoxins as well as CO2.

Photo

After the patients are connected to the multi-organ support device ADVOS multi by a conventional port or Shaldon catheter, the blood contaminated with toxins is passed through the ADVOS dialyzers and purified by means of albumin-enriched dialysate.

The dialysate binds both water-soluble and protein-bound toxins and is subsequently purified of toxins in the unique ADVOS circuit by chemical-physical processes and the resulting filtrates are disposed.

The ADVOS circuit itself consists of two partial circuits:

After filtration of the toxins, both loops are merged, hydrochloric acid and sodium hydroxide are neutralized to saline and water (HCl + NaOH = H2O + NaCl) and the purified, unsaturated albumin dialysate can be cycled through the dialyzer again in order to remove further toxins. Since the albumin is permanently purified and recycled, only a small amount of albumin is needed for efficient toxin removal.

Funktionsweise

Die Funktionsweise des ADVOS Verfahrens

Das ADVOS Verfahren basiert im Kern auf dem Prinzip der Albumindialyse. Im Gegensatz zur herkömmlichen Single-Pass-Albumindialyse erlaubt ADVOS jedoch einen wesentlich höheren Dialysatfluss, geringeren Albuminverbrauch sowie eine deutlich höhere Entgiftungsleistung.

Albumin ist ein Protein, das im menschlichen Körper dazu dient, wasserunlösliche Stoffe wie Fettsäuren, Bilirubin, Spurenelemente, bestimmte Vitamine, Hormone, Metalle und Arzneistoffe zu transportieren. All diese Stoffe werden erst durch die Bindung an Albumin transportfähig. Im Gegensatz zur normalen Nierendialyse, bei der nur wasserlösliche Toxine eliminiert werden, entfernt das ADVOS Verfahren durch die Beimischung von Albumin im Dialysat zusätzlich auch eiweißgebundene Hepato – und Nephrotoxine sowie CO2.

Bild

Sobald die Patienten über einen herkömmlichen Port oder Shaldon-Katheter an das Multiorganunterstützungsgerät ADVOS multi angeschlossen sind, wird das mit Giftstoffen belastete Blut durch die ADVOS Dialysatoren geleitet und hier mittels Albumin-angereichertem Dialysat gereinigt.

Das Dialysat bindet sowohl wasserlösliche als auch eiweißgebundene Toxine und wird anschließend in dem einzigartigen ADVOS Kreislauf durch chemisch-physikalische Vorgänge von den Giftstoffen gereinigt, die als Filtrat abgeschieden und entsorgt werden.

 

Der ADVOS Kreislauf selbst besteht aus 2 Teilkreisläufen:

Nach Abfiltration der Toxine werden beide Schenkel wieder zusammengeführt, Salzsäure und Natronlauge neutralisieren sich zu Kochsalz und Wasser (HCl + NaOH = H2O + NaCl) und das jetzt gereinigte Albumindialysat kann erneut am Blut vorbeigeleitet werden um weitere Toxine zu entfernen.